#writersbootcampZA – compilation of posts, day26 – 30

finding myself staring at the screen, realising that I’ve sort of lost track of time & missed out on a couple of days’ posts from the writersbootcampZA… so I’m stealing someone else’s idea of combining those posts into one…

Day 26 – FRIENDS

I miss the tv series… don’t think I’ve watched all the seasons though (even though I’ve got a couple of friends who have all of them). was somehow always intrigued by the lives of Ross, Rachel, Monica, Chandler, Matt & Phoebe. wondering if things would actually work out for these guys. always loved the idea of the coffee shop – central perk & what it would have been like for me and my friends to have coffee there…
then, taking a look at the friends characters & my friends… weird and interesting comparisons can be made, & I can identify some characteristics of the characters in my friends.
my friends, the crazy colourful bunch that in their own unique & quirky way compliments & completes my own kind of twistedness. the ones whom I can call at any random hour after midnight whether it is for coffee or for help. those who will step out of their comfort zones to take on a challenge I’m interested in or who’ll challenge me to do the same for & with them. the people who don’t keep quiet when I’m messing up, but always there to help rebuild.
I love my friends to bits!

Day 27 – BUCKET LIST

I believe every person should have a bucket list(a list of 100 things), and the list should be updated every year… (and a list of what was achieved should be kept)
in the last two years I’ve been challenged to take a hard look at what I actually want in life, what I see as living, what I love to do & things I want to achieve (realistically & that of which I dream to achieve).
as I believe the list should contain at least 100 things… I’ll only name a few that stands out & some of them are actually in reach of coming to fulfilment!

– meeting Kingsley Holgate, the world renown explorer (well, tonight that will happen as he’s giving a talk in Bloemfontein)
– completing the 4 peaks mountain challenge organised by Pure Adventures
– Unogwaja Challenge as support crew
– Put Foot Rally
– publishing a book with my dad
– publishing my own book…

Day 28 – POLITICS & DRAMA

I would rather say that politics is drama.
Politics is interesting… maybe not everyone’s cup of tea/coffee (and some need something stronger to start thinking & speaking about politics), but at some point everyone will have some sort of opinion on what is going on in politics.
It is interesting to listen to what the politicians say & to look if they are keeping their word… to look at all the contradictions & to think they run the country (if some of them would only run themselves as well)
Wondering sometimes whether the politicians are only there to keep on stroking their egos & to fill their bank accounts, or are they truly there to make a difference in the everyday life…
& if they realise that playing politics & truly managing a country is sort of, well, two very different things.

Day 29 – XRAY

from when I can remember until now has given me quite an interesting collection of x-rays…
not just x-rays that was taken, but of x-ray film/paper (whatever you want to call it), we used it as a canvas to paint on when I was still in primary school… still don’t know why we’d do that…
thinking of all the radiographers I’ve met… some were very sweet & then there were a couple along the way that was rather stern & strict (but I guess with someone like me you sometimes have to be).

Thought about listing all the different x-rays I’ve had, but not sure that it is actually such a good idea (uhm, ja well no fine, have some interesting x-rays). I know where the newest ones are, but not sure where the older ones are stored, most probably at my parents’ house… (wondering how long you’re supposed to keep those before you can actually throw them away)

Day 30 – ME AND MY WRITINGS

I’ve learnt quite a lot over the last 30 days…

Never thought about blogging that much, rather used to just jot down some ideas (& I still prefer writing with pen and paper than typing my thoughts out). However, the writersbootcamp has given me some things to think about, & I will keep on blogging (maybe not everyday, but will try for at least once a week)

I’ve realised again the importance of reading so that I can write, what a great help google translate can be, the online dictionaries for someone like me… even though I still make grammar & spelling mistakes, I do think my writing has improved…

My writing is still my way of jotting down ideas & giving expression to the voice inside of me, putting down thoughts so they may actually make more sense in the end. Knowing that these words penned to paper or typed out will not just bring an emotional release, it is also my way of clarifying things. & somewhere in all of this I hope to make an impact (even if it is just by a funny way of putting something forward )

Ending off with something I’ve written quite some time ago (28/05/2012 to be exact)
as a writer
I’m not here
to tell you
what to think
how to feel
or even
what to see
But my job is
to challenge you
to think beyond yourself
to look further
to see
but not just see
to imagine
looking beyond
having vision
for what is
and for what is to come
not to look at me
and what I’ve done
not because of who I am
But the One living in me
the One who’s heart
I’m here to portray
so that He can ultimately
have His way
and His truth be known
to those reading this poem

Leave a comment